Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Nyepi Day

Apparently, there has been great confusion and uproar over my last blog post.  I am not taking drugs, nor am I entertaining taking drugs (except in the form of red wine)...I was simply inquiring about the drug culture in Holland, which is, in essence far more lenient than in the States.

Okay, so now that that is cleared up, I just finished sharing a bottle of wine with Helen and we're sufficiently tipsy and tired from swimming all afternoon. :)  You should know that on Saturday is the biggest holiday in Bali - it is their New Year, Nyepi Day.  So Friday night is the, dance your brains out with baskets of fresh flowers on your head and eat nasi goreng til you puke night...but then on Saturday, you must stay at home, no electricity, no work, no play, no music...and contemplate on all the things you didn't do last year, but still have on your list of "to do's" for next year.  They even have police on the streets monitoring to make sure you or your kids don't get the urge to just frolic naked in the streets, still drunk from the night before.  So Saturday will be for me, as with everyone else here (though the hotel restaurant is still open, so scrambled eggs and toast are still on the menu for me) a day of rest.  Cuz, I haven't had any rest since I've been here :)  Oh yeah, that's all I've been doing.  Well, I'll rest even more restfully on Saturday.

Feels like my vaca is on the tail end, even though I have a few more days.

Miss you all,

Mimi

No comments:

Post a Comment